ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/57/2016

Dated: 19th September, 2016

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Bye Elections to the Council of States from Madhya Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Council by the Members of Legislative Assembly.

There is a casual vacancy in the Council of States from Madhya Pradesh due to resignation of sitting member Dr. Najma A. Heptulla on 20^{th} August, 2016. The term of office would have been up to 2^{nd} April, 2018.

Also, there is another casual vacancy in the Telangana Legislative Council elected by the members of Legislative Assembly due to the resignation of sitting member Shri Tummala Nageswara Rao on $23^{\rm rd}$ May, 2016. The term of office would have been up to $3^{\rm rd}$ June, 2021.

The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to the Council of States from Madhya Pradesh and Telangana Legislative Council by Members of Legislative Assembly to fill up the above said vacancies in accordance with the following programme: -

Sl.No.	Subject of Programme	Dates and Days
1.	Issue of Notifications	26th September, 2016 (Monday)
2.	Last Date of making nominations	3rd October, 2016 (Monday)
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	4th October, 2016 (Tuesday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	6 th October, 2016 (Thursday)
5.	Date of Poll	17th October, 2016 (Monday)
6.	Hours of Poll	9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M.
7.	Counting of Votes	17th October, 2016 (Monday) at 5.00 P.M.
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	20th October, 2016 (Thursday)

(TAPAS KUMAR) SR. PRINCIPAL SECRETARY